Today I had my first private golf lesson from Doug Morgan of Redwoods golf course. All I can say is wow! Today’s photograph(s) are of range where I took my lesson followed by my notes from the lesson today.

For homework I had to email Doug with everything that we discussed today. I love deconstructing stuff like this and if I get the video I will post that too. Lessons like this remind me of when I was teaching skiing regularly and we would do “session” every morning and work purely on technique.

My swing thoughts from today:

1. Contact point of the ball. Ideally we want to contact the ball at the 9 o’clock position but contact point alone does not determine ball flight. Ball flight is also governed by the direction the shaft travels as it comes towards the ball.

2. Hand position. From a lefties point of view my top hand’s Vee, formed from my thumb and index fingers, should point towards the inside of my left shoulder and my left hand’s Vee should point up my arm towards my left shoulder. I know that I have proper grip when I look down and can only see the index and middle knuckles of both hands.

3. Arm position. When I have my grip in a neutral position my left elbow should feel tucked into my chest while my right elbow should be rotated counterclockwise causing my arms to be parallel to the ground when held parallel to the ground.

4. Base. My feet should be wide to create a firm base and I should feel my weight on the insides of my feet. Ideally the insides of my ankles should be lined up with the outsides of my shoulders. This can and will change in on-course situations depending on the lie of the ball. The base allows for better transfer of weight and rotation of the lower body.

5. Follow through. Follow through is just as important as a pre-shot routine as it allows you to analyze what may have happened in a shot as well it removes one more controllable variable in a swing. For myself I need to concentrate on finishing a shot completely by rotating my lower body completely through the ball as this ensures that I am rotating completely through the ball. My heel should be up pointing in the direction of the target.

6. Aiming and alignment. I need to use external alignment aids when practicing at the range then begin to internalize the aiming process. Part of aiming can be done by spotting a target 3 to 4 feet ahead of the ball to use as an alignment aid on the course. It’s also important to vary clubs and targets when practicing to work not only on aim but distance control.

