Sometimes setting up a photograph is almost as satisfying as the resulting photograph itself. Many, many years ago I worked for a company called F22 Photography where I learned a lot about commercial photography. The most interesting thing I learned was that what you saw in a photograph was generally far more glamorous than how the photograph was taken. A photographer’s best friends were pieces of white card, duct tape, and large clips to hold things in place.

The photographs below depicts such a setup. For this shoot I used the following materials: black paper appropriated from work, a disposable chop stick, black plasticine, a student’s 11×17 Science project as a reflector, a halogen desk lamp, and finally my camera gear. The results of this shoot will be shown over the next couple of days with before and after post processing shots.

The setup!